Available now from Houghton Mifflin Harcourt


Flyaway

flyaway_cover

Fifteen-year-old Stevie Calhoun is used to taking care of herself. But one night, her mom, who works as an exotic dancer in a downtown Seattle nightclub, never comes home.

That's the night Stevie's life turns upside down.

It's the night that kicks off an extraordinary summer: the summer Stevie has to stay with her annoyingly perfect Aunt Mindy; the summer she learns to care for injured and abandoned birds; the summer she gets to know Alan, the meanest guy in high school.

But most of all, it's the summer she finds out the truth about Mom.

This novel, sold at auction by my agent, Chris Richman at Upstart Crow Literary, is the deeply moving, often humorous story of a teen girl's struggle to hold on to what she's always believed, even as her world spins out of control.

Reviews

"Flyaway is so good I read it in one sitting. I had intended to set it aside for later, but I read the first sentence, and then the next, and by then it was too late; I was hooked!"
—Han Nolan, National Book Award winner

"Fans of Ellen Hopkins and Jay Asher: Prepare to fall in love with debut novelist Helen Landalf. Filled with big-hearted love and gritty realism, Flyaway rings with bittersweet truth."
—Justina Chen, author of North of Beautiful




 


blue birds

More Books

Books for Children

Books for Teens

Books for Teachers


Purchase Flyaway from the publisher or your favorite bookstore